top of page

My New, Incredible Bad Habit


On Wednesday, June 7th, an amazing opportunity landed in my lap (or email inbox to be specific): the chance to produce a one-night only cabaret with a Broadway national touring cast!

Thanks to my friend Dorea, I was connected to members of The Sound Of Music, (for the basics, google "Julie Andrews" and "Nuns" to know what this is), who wanted to present some simple, super easy, not-complicated-at-all music they learned while on tour in concert form: Sondheim's Sweeney Todd. Note: #allofthesarcasm

I met a cast member named Carey who connected me to another named Robert who is the director of this concert to be. After a few emails back and forth, questions posed and answered, and eventually an in-person meeting about a week-ish later, La Ti Do Productions and I were officially hired as the producer of Bad Habits.

Here's the show description:

"From the hills of Austria to the seedy streets of London... come witness the angelic nuns of the Broadway Touring Company of The Sound of Music whip off those wimples and get down and dirty in Stephen Sondheim's twisted, thrilling masterpiece!"

Sounds sexy, right? (That's Robert's word, but I wholeheartedly agree with him)

Since our meeting, I've had the honor and privilege to bring the production pieces together for the Sound of Music-ers. While it was on a time crunch, (I was hired on Monday, June 19th for a June 29th show), it's been an exhilarating couple of weeks with my first-listen of the cast just a few days ago in the rehearsal hall at The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in downtown DC, where their tour stop is, and it was INCREDIBLE.

As of this post, we are under a week until showtime, and while I don't outwardly use this blog to sell people on events, there is a first time for everything!

DON'T MISS THIS SHOW!!!

It is a late-night event starting at 11:30pm (doors open at 11pm) on Thursday, June 29th at Penn Social located in DC's Chinatown neighborhood. Please also note that this will be AFTER they do the musical they're on tour for at The Kennedy Center beforehand, which is literally 3-hours of singing already!

You can get tickets at the cost of a $20 donation per head and what you'll receive for that will be priceless: An evening with Broadway talent singing one of musical theatre's most famous shows written by the legendary Stephen Sondheim, (Company, Into The Woods, West Side Story, etc, etc)!

To learn more about who will be performing and what to expect, just select the image above or visit this page.

I've been amazingly blessed with this opportunity to work with these amazing artists and I hope you take some time to join me to see the product of their hard work.

Till next time,

Don Mike

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page